On the Shelf by Paul 10/4/17

Issue 2017 – 10
Summer Reading Program

The Downieville Library congratulates the four children who read throughout the summer, and thereby earned a free book of their choice at the recent Downieville School Book Fair. The accomplished readers are: Haven Antrim, Lily Antrim, Jessilynn Dunham, and Rudy Jackson. Well done!

Award-winning Children’s Books
While we’re on the subject of children’s books, let it be known that the library has on its shelves several books that have received Caldecott and Newberry medals, as well as the honor books (those nominated that did not win) in those two categories. Caldecott Medal winners and honor books currently in the library are listed chronologically according to the year the prize was won.

Caldecott Medal: named in honor of the 19th century English illustrator, Randolph Cadecott, the prize is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children (a division of the American Library Association) to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children. The prize has been awarded since 1938.
1942: Make Way for Ducklings, illustrated & text by Robert McCloskey (medal winner)
1943: Marshmallow, illustrared & text by Clare Turlay Newberry (honor book)
1944: Many Moons, illustrated by Louis Slobodkin, text by James Thurbur (medal winner)
1957: A Tree Is Nice, illustrated by Marc Simont, text by janice Udry (medal winner)
1962: Little Bear’s Visit, illustrated by Maurice Sendak, text by Else H. Minark (honor book)
1963: The Snowy Day, illustrated & text by Ezra Jack Keats (medal winner)
1964: Where the Wild Things Are, illustrated & text by Maurice Sendak (medal winner)
1967: Sam, Bangs, and Moonshine, illustrated & text by Evaline Ness (medal winner)
1968: Frederick, illustrated & text by Leo Lionni (honor book)
1973: Snow-White and the Seven Dwarfs, illustrated by Nancy Ekholm Burket, text by Randall Jarrell (honor book)
1981: Fables, illustrated & text by Arnold Lobel (medal winner)
1982: Outside Over There, illustrated & text by Maurice Sendak (honor book)
1986: The Polar Express, illustrated & text by Chris Van Allsburg (medal winner)
The Relatives Came, illustrated by Stephen Gammell, text by Cynthia Rylant (honor book)
1987: Rumpelstiltskin, illustrated & text by Paul O. Zelinsky (honor book)
1989: Goldilocks and the Three Bears, illustrated & text by James Marshall (honor book)
1993: The Stinky Cheese Man and Other Fairly Stupid Tales, illustrated by Lane Smith, text by Jon Scieszka (honor book)
1994: Grandfather’s Journey, illustrated by Allen Say, text by Walter Lorraine (medal winner)
1996: Office Buckle and Gloria, illustrated & text by Peggy Rathman (medal winner)
1997: Golem, illustrated & text by David Wisniewski (medal winner)
1998: Rapunzel, illustrated & text by Paul O. Zelinsky (medal winner)
2001: Olivia, illustrated & text by Ian Falconer (honor book)
2004: Don’t Let the Pigeon Drive the Bus!, illustrated & text by Mo Willems (honor book)

(The Newberry Medal winners and honor books will be listed in the next “On the Shelf” column.)

Other Award-winning Books & Authors
A listing of various author and book awards is kept at the library, detailing the winners on a year-by-year basis for each award. The listing includes: Caldecott Medals; Mann Booker Prizes; National Book Awards; Newberry Medals; Nobel Prize for Literature; and, Pulitzer Prize for Fiction.

Book Review Group
The next gathering of the Book Share & Review Group will be Tuesday, October 24, at 1p.m.  at the library. Start planning which books you would like to share with the group. Or, plan to come and just listen about what others have read.