On The Shelf by Paul 10/18/17

Issue 2017 – 11
Book Review Group
The Book Share & Review Group meets on Tuesday, October 24th 1:00 PM at the Downieville Library. Everyone is welcome, whether to share books you’ve been reading, or to hear what others have read.

Award-winning Children’s Books
The previous column of On the Shelf contained a list of Caldecott medal winning books that are present in the library. Now we list the Newberry medal winner and honor books.

Newberry Medal: named in honor of the 18th century British bookseller, John Newberry, the prize is awarded annually by the Association of Library Service to Children (a division of the American Library Association, and the same organization that awards the Caldecott prizes) to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children. The prize has been awarded since 1922. Medal winner and honor books (those nominated that did not win) presently in the Downieville Library are listed here chronologically according to the year the prize was won.
1925: Tales from Silver Lands, by Charles Finger (medal winner)
1935: Davy Crockett, by Constance Rourke (honor book)
1938: On the Banks of Plum Creek, by Laura Ingalls Wilder (honor book)
1939: Mr. Popper’s Penguins, by Richard & Florence Atwater (honor book)
1940: By the Shores of Silver Lake, by Laura Ingalls Wilder (honor book)
1941: Call It Courage, by Armstrong Sperry (medal winner)
The Long Winter, by Laura Ingalls Wilder (honor book)
1942: Little House on the Prairie, by Laura Ingalls Wilder (honor book)
1944: These Happy Golden Years, by Laura Ingalls Wilder (honor book)
1945: The Hundred Dresses, by Eleanor Estes (honor book)
1946: Strawberry Girl, by Lois Lenski (medal winner)
1949: My Father’s Dragon, by Ruth S. Gannett (honor book)
1953: Charlotte’s Web, by E.B. White (honor book)
1960: Onion John, by Joseph Krumgold (medal winner)
1961: Island of the Blue Dolphins, by Scott O’Dell (medal winner)
1962: The Bronze Bow, by Elizabeth George Speare (medal winner)
The Golden Goblet, by Eloise Jarvis McGraw (honor book)
1970: Sounder, by William H. Armstrong (medal winner)
1974: The Slave Dancer, by Paula Fox (medal winner)
1976: The Hundred Penny Box, by Sharon Bell Mathis (honor book)
1978: Ramona and Her Father, by Beverly Cleary (honor book)
1979: The Great Gilly Hopkins, by Katherine Paterson (honor book)
1982: Ramona Quimby, Age 8, by Beverly Clearly (honor book)
1985: One-Eyed Cat, by Paula Fox (honor book)
1986: Sarah, Plain and Tall, by Patricia MacLachlan (medal winner)
1987: On My Honor, by Marion Dane Bauer (honor book)
1996: The Midwife’s Apprentice, by Karen Cushman (medal winner)
2000: Bud, Not Buddy, by Christopher Paul Curtis (medal winner)
26 Fairmount Avenue, by Tomie dePaola (honor book)
2001: A Year Down Yonder, by Richard Peck (medal winner)
2003: Crispin: The Cross of Lead, by Avi (medal winner)
2005: Lizzie Bright and the Buckminster Boy, by Gary D. Schmidt (honor book)

Downieville Library Hours
The library is open for eight hours each week: on Tuesday, from 10:00 AM to 2:00 PM; and, on Thursday from 12:00 noon to 4:00 PM. You will find the library staffed by librarian, Peggy Daigle, or by one of several volunteers. All are glad to see you, and eager to help you.